There are two FAQ documents at this point. The official Season 4 one is the first thing that comes up when you google “guild ball faq” and this here is to spotlight the newer GBCP one that is in addition to the first.
**The Living F.A.Q.**
LINK:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1gFcTiD4i7EOzennB5JTtysXFRCO18CJqWs3w9Nt2txc/edit?usp=sharing
This F.A.Q. is not “complete” and will obviously get larger upon adding new interactions/clarifications, once they are discussed (mainly in the Guild Ball Discord channels).
Also, if there is something incorrect in the F.A.Q. please contact The Inspiring Hat or someone else of GBCP steering a.s.a.p. for quick corrections. You’ll find him on discord too.
If you don’t use discord, feel free to write here on The Bench and it wil be relayed to GBCP for sure! 🙂

Frequenty Asked Questions regarding Rules
This is the contains RIGHT NOW july 2024:
———-
Interaction between Gravity Well and Rush Keeper / Counter Charge
Scenario:
Mist ends his advance engaging both Marbles and Brick. This means that both Counter Charge ánd Gravity Well are triggered. What happens? Can Marbles charge in this situation?
Resolution:
The triggering and resolving of the abilities are different things entirely. The triggering happens on the end of the advance, but the resolving of the abilities is carried out sequentially.
Declaring Counter Charge’s charge and Gravity Well’s push are part of the resolution step.
The controlling player – the one whose model has just ended their advance – can choose the order in which the abilities get resolved, and the opponent can then decide whether or not they want to trigger the ability or not.
If the controlling player chooses to resolve Counter Charge first, Marbles is still engaged by Mist at this time, and therefore can’t charge. Afterwards, Brick can choose to let Mist suffer up to a 2” push.
If the controlling player chooses to resolve Gravity Well first, Mist can possibly be pushed out engagement with Marbles, meaning that Marbles is now free to declare its charge when Counter Charge gets resolved.
Interaction between Shearing and the use of a Harvest marker
Scenario:
Shearer is within 2” of a friendly Harvest marker. If he removes the marker, does he have to dodge immediately, or can he choose to use it later in his activation?
Resolution:
For this, we look at the wording in both Thresher’s Don’t Fear The… and Bushel’s Cabbage Punt. Shearing’s wording resembles Don’t Fear The… in that they both state that after removal of the Harvest marker, an effect happens. Cabbage Punt has the added phrase of “during its activation” within this effect, meaning that Bushel can decide when to use Cabbage Punt’s effect. Thresher can’t, and therefore Shearer can’t. The 4” dodge is performed immediately upon removal of the marker.
Interaction between Fork Off! and Sweeping Charge
Scenario:
Tater charges Gutter due to Fork Off!. He hits her and chooses a damage result from his playbook. Do the 3 damage from Sweeping Charge get added?
Resolution:
Sweeping Charge states that the charge has to be made during Tater’s activation. Fork Off! causes an out-of-activation charge, which means that Sweeping Charge can’t be used in this situation.
Interaction between the Never Say Die game plan card and getting taken out by conditions at the end of the turn
Scenario:
Boiler has 2 HP and the Bleeding condition at the end of the turn. Bleeding’s damage is resolved, which lowers Boiler’s HP to below 0, meaning he suffers the taken out condition, resulting in the opponent gaining 2 VP. Does Boiler’s controller receive 2 MP from the game plan card?
Resolution:
The timing sequence is that condition damage is resolved before the game plan cards are discarded. This means that Boiler suffers the taken out condition, while the Never Say Die game plan card is still in effect. The player controlling Boiler receives 2 MP.
Interaction between Memory having i.e. Tooled Up, being taken out, and Thought
Scenario:
Memory has received Tooled Up and Malice as effects from his team, but gets taken out before his activation. Brainpan’s Thought brings him back, but does he still have the effects on him?
Resolution:
Since the effects are sustained abilities, and since the only time that effects get removed from models is during the End Phase, the abilities are still there at the time of Thought’s resolution. Memory still has the Tooled Up and Malice effects on him.
Interaction between Game Plan cards and models off the pitch at the start of a turn
Scenario:
Fathom is taken out at the start of the turn. Fathom’s player chooses to use Pass Out the Orange Slices, while the opponent uses Pick Up The Pace! Does Fathom get +2 HP? Can she be given the +2”/+2” MOV effect?
Resolution:
This requires us to look at the wording on the cards. The important phrase is “models on the pitch”. If this phrase is present, Fathom is ineligible to receive the rewards of the game plan card. If it’s not present, Fathom is eligible.
Game Plan cards unable to affect models not yet on the pitch at the start of the turn:
- Caught Out Of Position (model isn’t on the pitch, so can’t be dodged)
- Pass Out The Orange Slices (model isn’t on the pitch, so can’t gain 2 HP)
- Sidestep (model isn’t on the pitch, so can’t be dodged)
Interaction between the Caught Out Of Position game plan card and the ball being on a model behind the goal line due to its dodge
Scenario:
Flint has the ball at just under 2” from his own goal line. The opponent plays the Caught Out Of Position game plan card and dodges him behind the goal line. Is Flint’s controller able to accrue momentum?
Resolution:
While the opponent has dodged Flint behind the goal line, the criteria for stopping momentum gain are still in effect after the dodge. A friendly model is in possession of the ball behind their goal line. While Flint was friendly to the opponent at the time of the dodge, Flint isn’t at the end of the dodge action. Flint’s controller is unable to accrue MP until Flint or the ball is moved.
Interaction between Roast and non-Playbook damage
Scenario:
Roast’s Resilience has been triggered already in this scenario. Shank charges Roast and chooses the Cup result. With this, he buys Thousand Cuts, with which he deals 1 DMG to Roast. Does Big Belly trigger?
Resolution:
Big Belly’s wording shows that only playbook damage results will trigger the push. Shank does not suffer Big Belly’s push by using Thousand Cuts, as Thousand Cuts is character play damage, not playbook damage.
Interaction between Well Oiled Machine / Potbellied Pass and Teamwork actions
Scenario:
Benediction passes the ball to Veteran Fangtooth, who elects to use the Potbellied Pass effect to pass the ball towards Seasoned Spigot. Who can use any Teamwork actions during this interaction?
Resolution:
The receiving of a successful pass is the trigger that allows Potbellied Pass to go into effect. The resolution is that Fangtooth can now decide to either use a Teamwork action (Pass & Move, Snap Shot) or Potbellied Pass. If he uses Potbellied Pass, this means that no one has yet used a Teamwork action, which means that Benediction still has this option available.
The pass from Potbellied Pass to Seasoned Spigot creates a new instance in which a Teamwork action can be used, meaning that either Veteran Fangtooth or Seasoned Spigot can decide to use it.
The same is possible for Pin Vice’s Well Oiled Machine.
Interaction between Tag Along and out-of-activation movement effects, i.e. Dreadful Shriek
Scenario:
Squeak charges Siren successfully and chooses the GB token result from his Playbook. He buys Dreadful Shriek and makes Siren move out of his melee zone. Does Tag Along trigger?
Resolution:
We need to actually look at the trigger for Tag Along, which is ‘friendly model ends an advance that caused it to leave this model’s melee zone’. During the advance caused by Dreadful Shriek, Siren indeed is friendly to Squeak, but this effect ends at the end of the advance. This means that Siren is an enemy of Squeak at the end of the advance, and therefore Tag Along doesn’t trigger.
Clarification of Nitro!
Scenario:
Soma casts Nitro! Soma’s controller wants to dodge Veteran Katalyst over an obstruction. Is this possible?
Resolution:
Nitro states that, while the total amount of dodging can be 6”, the dodges have a maximum distance of 1” per dodge. As you can’t end your dodge on top of an obstruction, Veteran Katalyst has to move around the terrain piece. He can’t be repositioned over it.
Interaction between the Ball of Light and tackling a model that has both balls
Scenario:
Vitriol jogs to engage Brisket, who has possession of both the ball and the Ball of Light. Vitriol makes a successful attack and chooses the tackle result. How many balls get tackled?
Resolution:
When Vitriol’s controller declares the tackle, they also have to declare the target of said tackle. This means that they can only tackle either the ball or the Ball of Light. If they want to get possession of both balls, they’ll need to perform two tackles.
Interaction between Shutout and Do The Thing!
Scenario:
Silence successfully casts Shutout onto the opponent’s Minx. Does this mean that Minx has to be the Union player’s last regular activation, or does this mean that Minx is required to use Do The Thing’s additional activation?
Resolution:
Shutout’s effect isn’t satisfied after the target completes its activation, so you’re unable to activate a different model after the model with Shutout has activated. This means that Minx has to be both the fifth and sixth activations of the Union player’s activations. If the Union player wants to use Do The Thing on another model than Minx, both activations have to be carried out before Minx’ activation.
Interaction between Shutout and Superior Strategy
Scenario:
Silence successfully casts Shutout onto the opponent’s Honour. Does this mean that Honour can only Superior Strategy herself, or can she target any other models?
Resolution:
Usually, Shutout’s effect would be satisfied after Honour completes her activation as sixth in line, but Superior Strategy would add a seventh activation, making the satisfaction of Shutout’s effect void – now the seventh activation hás to be Honour. If Honour decides to still Superior Strategy another model, they can’t activate, as Shutout states that Honour has to be the last model. Honour has to Superior Strategy herself.
If Shutout is used on any model but Honour, Superior Strategy can be played out as the interaction between Shutout and Do The Thing! If the model with Shutout doesn’t have Superior Strategy, the Superior Strategy affected model has to use both activations before the Shutout affected model activates. If Shutout is cast on the Superior Strategy affected model, that model has to use activations six and seven.
Interaction between Berserk and character play damage bought through the Playbook
Scenario:
Spice makes a charge into Venin, who has the Poisoned condition on him. Spice’s charge is successful and the GB token is chosen as a result. The Intensify character play is bought with the token and Venin suffers 2 DMG. Does this trigger Spice’s Berserk?
Resolution:
Berserk’s additional attack is triggered on dealing damage on an attack. The Intensify play is bought as part of the attack sequence, and therefore the damage dealt is also part of the attack sequence. This means that Berserk is triggered and Spice receives the possibility to make an additional attack.
Interaction between Nightlight’s Lens Flare and Bonus Time
Scenario:
Midas is affected by Lens Flare. Midas declares an attack into Beacon using Bonus Time. How many dice can Midas’ controller roll?
Resolution:
Without Lens Flare, Midas would generate a dice pool of seven: his TAC value is 6, Bonus Time adds 1. Lens Flare in effect says that Midas’ dice pool can’t go over his unmodified TAC value, though, which is 6.
Yes, we know, adding Bonus Time is part of another step of the attack sequence, after generating the dice pool, but the “Rule As Intended” (RAI) is that Lens Flare affects every form of modifier. Bonus Time included.
